BETWEEN A ROCK AND A HARD PLACE blog tour, review & giveaway

 

beyween a rocklarge banner640

Between a Rock and a Hard Place
by Marty Wingate

between a rockBetween a Rock and a Hard Place: A Potting Shed Mystery
(Potting Shed Mystery series Book 3)

Cozy Mystery
Publisher: Alibi (August 4, 2015)
Random House LLC
ASIN: B00PEPR70M
goodreads-badge-add-plus

 

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Laura Childs, Ellery Adams, and Jenn McKinlay, Marty Wingate’s enchanting Potting Shed Mystery series heads to Scotland as Pru Parke plans her wedding . . . all while a vengeful murderer is poised to strike again.

After her romantic idyll with the debonair Detective Chief Inspector Christopher Pearse culminates in a marriage proposal, Pru Parke sets about arranging their nuptials while diving into a short-term gig at the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh. At hand is the authentication of a journal purportedly penned by eighteenth-century botanist and explorer Archibald Menzies. Compared to the chaos of wedding planning, studying the journal is an agreeable task . . . that is, until a search for a missing cat leads to the discovery of a dead body: One of Pru’s colleagues has been conked on the head with a rock and dumped from a bridge into the Water of Leith.

Pru can’t help wondering if the murder has something to do with the Menzies diary. Is the killer covering up a forgery? Among the police’s many suspects are a fallen aristocrat turned furniture maker, Pru’s overly solicitous assistant, even Pru herself. Now, in the midst of sheer torture by the likes of flamboyant wedding dress designers and eccentric church organists, Pru must also uncover the work of a sly murderer—unless this bride wants to walk down the aisle in handcuffs.

 

My thoughts:  This is the 3rd book in the Potting Shed mysteries.  Marty Wingate is a new to me author and I was not disappointed.  I have not read the first 2 books but I did not feel like I was lost. The previous case was mentioned in this book and I felt like i was in good standing with the book as I read along.

Pru has been hired to authenticate a journal attributed to Archibald Menzies, the eighteenth-century botanist and explorer. She is butting heads with a colleague who thinks she should have had the job. When he is turned up dead after an argument with Pru, she is the logical suspect. Things start to get a bit complicated when a fold flame shows up and the wedding plans going to pot.

I loved the characters between the banter of Chris and Pru and the wedding plans being funny this series is great.  The fact you are learning about gardening along the way is not bad either.  If you enjoy cozies and gardening this is a great series for you.  I will be checking out the other books.

 

MARTY

About the Author

Marty Wingate is the author of two previous Potting Shed mysteries, The Garden Plot and The Red Book of Primrose House. Her new Birds of a Feather Mystery series debuted with The Rhyme of the Magpie. Wingate is a regular contributor toCountry Gardens and other magazines. She also leads gardening tours throughout England, Scotland, Ireland, France, and North America. More Potting Shed and Birds of a Feather mysteries are planned.

Author Links

Purchase Links

Amazon           Barnes and Noble      Books a Million      eBooks.com      Google Play       iBooks

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

5 Comments